New blog section: The Art of War

One of the aspects of the game I wanted to tackle since when I opened the blog, almost one year ago, has always been its strategic depth. For sure, proposing and discussing army lists addresses that in some way, but I always felt the desire to eviscerate strategy and tactics a bit more.

Until now I suppressed this urge, mostly because I preferred other sections of the site to be better consolidated before opening another, but also because I felt it wasn’t right to talk about more complex topics without the necessary game experience to understand them. I felt I needed to play more, in order to provide useful insight to the Warhammer: Diskwars community, something a little better than “I never tried this stuff, but I believe is should work”.

Today, after a handful of played games, I can say I have a bit more confidence to talk about the game in a different way, so I’m opening a new page of the blog, dedicated to strategy articles and in-depth game analysis; The Art of War.

Now, to be fair, the first articles in this new section are not a creation of mine, but have been written by a fellow Warhammer: Diskwars fan, Andrew aka Jedhead, who previously published them on the FFG and Boardgamegeek forums and asked me if I was interested in reposting them – with a slight change in their structure – on my blog. As I found them really interesting and well-written I acknowledged almost immediately. Moreover, they fit perfectly with the spirit of my new section, hence it’ like I’m hitting two Sun Dragons with one Rock Lobber.

So, enough with my nonsense, here’s to you Andrew’s first two articles about Units and Hero roles in Warhammer: Diskwars. The first is a general rundown of each role and its peculiarities, the second is a detailed role-by-role analysis of the Empire disks. Enjoy.

Leave a comment